Musings On Motherhood and (Hopefully Helpful) Aromatherapy Tips

Do you smell that? It's the smell of...relaxation.

My darling Internet, let me introduce you, if you haven’t already met, to Lavender. I have rows of it planted outside my back door, and bottles of the oil all over my house. My children love it, and it smells fresh and clean. I love lavender, and I am going to share with you some uses for it, this incredibly versatile oil.Most oils need a carrier oil (such as vegetable oil, or V6) but lavender is gentle on even little babies. You can definitely use a carrier, though, and make a light, soothing massage oil. Research has confirmed that lavender produces slight calming, soothing, and sedative effects when its scent is inhaled. PLEASE check with your doctor and do your research before using ANYTHING on your children.

As I’ve mentioned, I have 3 children that are, at any given moment, ganging up on me as I try to do literally anything that doesn’t revolve around all of them simultaneously, and I can only write this at this moment because 2 of them are at school and the other is napping. They have elevated the spazz attack to an art form and a spectator sport (which is especially fun at the grocery store, when you know everyone is watching and judging the hell out of your parenting). The solution to this? Well, beyond the usual “make sure they are fed, rested, and dressed comfortably before unleashing them on the world”, I rub lavender oil on their adorable little bellies. The scent is calming, relaxing, and helps to nip those bouncing-off-the-walls-in-public-oh-crap-GET-BACK-HERE-THIS-INSTANT moments in the bud. I say “helps” because it’s not quite magic, and that toy over there would make my kid flip out even if he was fully sedated.

All right guys, simmer down.

After you get home from your stress-free trip to the store, put a few drops of the oil on your precious baby’s pillowcase (or on a handkerchief tucked into the pillowcase) to help lull the little angel into dreamland.

Then you can draw yourself a nice bath (I enjoy them so hot I look like a lobster coming out, but whatever your personal preference is fine :P), and of course add a few drops to the running water so you can literally soak in the relaxation. I would suggest a glass of blackberry wine and a good book as well, but whatever floats your boat. Lavender soaps, scented with 100% therapeutic grade oils? Fabulous.

Other wonderful uses for lavender:

  • Use it to help lessen the effects of insomnia, anxiety and depression (and of course talk to your doctor if these conditions are severe)
  • It is EXCELLENT for treating burns. But you know the drill–ANY SEVERE BURN REQUIRES A TRIP TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM
  • As a gentle antiseptic to treat small cuts and scrapes (I keep a bottle in my first aid kit and purse for such occasions)
  • For treatment of skin irritations such as windburn
  • Insect bites (Yup, go to the doctor if the insect is of the “OH MY GOD WHAT IS THAT I’M GOING TO DIE” variety, or if an allergic reaction to the bite occurs)
  • On the chest to ease congestion due to colds or allergies
  • As a massage for muscle pain
  • On pimples (I know, eww)
  • Toss it at irritable people like holy water on a vampire. (I am not responsible for any legal problems this may cause you–your results may vary)

To sum this up, I believe that everyone should carry this oil with them at all times. It’s like the Swiss Army Knife of oils–when in doubt, dump some lavender on it. Also remember to check for an allergic reaction when using any oils, though with lavender this is pretty unlikely, and TALK TO YOUR HEALTH CARE PROVIDER IF YOU’RE PREGNANT OR BREASTFEEDING BEFORE USING ANYTHING NEW, YES I WILL KEEP REPEATING THIS BECAUSE IT’S IMPORTANT. I love you, Internet people, and I want you to be careful and stay safe.

Have a wonderful, beautiful, peaceful day everyone,

Loretta ❤

Comments on: "Lavender: A Love Story" (3)

  1. Hahah I love how you write 🙂 Lavender is fantastic. I put it in my laundry, I use soap nuts so if I want frangrance I have to add it, lavender is perfect. Same goes for mopping the floors, calms the whole house down.

    • Thanks 🙂 I also love to put it in my laundry, especially the kid’s sheets. We need to do everything we can to promote calm over here. Seriously, it gets insane.

  2. I’m a lover of lavender as well!! A day doesn’t go by when I’m not sniffing my well-used bottle deeply. I wish I could buy it by the gallon!!!

Leave a Reply

